Delphi Pages Forums  

Go Back   Delphi Pages Forums > Delphi Forum > General

Lost Password?

Old 07-25-2013, 05:01 PM

Red face New to Delphi... Should I continue with it or scrap for C#?

Hello all,

I'm a Delphi n00b as my username says I've started to try to learn Delphi to make some windows desktop apps. I'm doing it kind of as a hobby/make tools I can use for myself.

I work in the SEO industry so I use a tool called Scrapebox(written in Delphi) to do a lot of analysis. I love the interface of it, its speed, and ease of use so I found out it was written in Delphi so I decided to pursue learning it on my own.

I currently use PHP/MySQL for most of my programming/web scripting. I have I'd say an intermediate overall programming background as I've dabbled in JAVA and OOP to write a few Android apps and I've tried to learn .NET C# but gave up on that as I got bored with it.

So far I have a student version of RAD Studio XE3, took this course on udemy: https://www.udemy.com/learn-to-program-with-pascal/ and jsut got and started the books "Delphi in a Nutshell" and Cantu's "mastering Borland Delphi 2005"

I'm really focused on learning Delphi now but I have a few worries...

A. It seems like the language is dying and there is little to no support/dev communites besides this an a few other for it. If I ever have a problem with PHP or Eclipse stuff I can usually find the answer on Stack Overflow... it doesn't seem that way with Delphi.

B. Will Delphi evolve in the future with new technologies and be as powerful/capable as .NET...

C. How long will it take me to get up to speed with Delphi to be at a level where I can build simple/intermediate apps. Having a job and a side biz... time is precious.

For some reason my gut tells me that it might not be the right time/too late to join the Delphi landscape.

IF you guys had to start again would you jump on it in it's current state compared to other languages, technologies, IDE's out there?