Delphi Pages Forums  

Go Back   Delphi Pages Forums > Delphi Forum > DB-Aware

Lost Password?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2001, 12:45 AM
gomfp gomfp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 29
Default Using a dbGrid in one-to-many-to-many relationship

Given three Paradox tables namely, Customer, Location, and Orders whereby Customer is a one-to-many to Location and Location is a one-to-many to Orders, Customer is related to Location using key field AccountNo, and Location is related to Orders on key field LocationNo. Using lookup fields with a dbGrid showing records from the Orders Table, is it possible to create a customer lookup field that not only assigns the AccountNo to the Orders Table but also limits values in a location lookup field to those records in the Location Table having the same AccountNo as that entered in the new Orders record? While I've been able to work with one-to-many relationships in a similar manner, I seem to have reached a stalemate when working with one-to-many-to-many relationship in the manner described above. I am presently working in Delphi5 Pro in a Windows98 environment. Any suggestions or feedback regarding the resolve to this matter would be most appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2001, 02:59 AM
digitiger digitiger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 716
Default RE: Using a dbGrid in one-to-many-to-many relationship

easier way out of your complex situation to provide dbgrid as viewing area and one row of edit/combo/dbcombo/dblookupxombo box at the top where user can edit/insert the data then your work will be much easier as you can put any list based on your own or some other table dependent data to any combobox


i am not sure but it it helps then click on the accept button above
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2001, 12:18 AM
gomfp gomfp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 29
Default RE: Using a dbGrid in one-to-many-to-many relationship

Thanks for the reply but unfortunately not the right solution as I have done this in the past. At this point in time, I prefer to use grids only in all of my forms.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.