Delphi Pages Forums  

Go Back   Delphi Pages Forums > Delphi Forum > General

Lost Password?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-23-2002, 03:05 AM
PoseFant PoseFant is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,002
Default RE: "Abstract Error" appears again

What about events ... do you do something unnescesseary in the events ... you mentioned that you hade some paint operations ... are you sure the application is ready for these operations, everything is created, etc. Perhaps you need some timers, some delays ...

And does it run from the OS, With that I mean, what happens if you compile the application, and run the EXE file outside Delphi. Same error ?


---

Regards

/Filip

I've lost my autosignature ... *sobbing* ...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-23-2002, 03:10 AM
PetrB PetrB is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 530
Default RE: "Abstract Error" appears again

Do you have some code on OnPageChanged event?
Did you try run it on other computer?
Which Delphi are you using?

If it help you please give me a point.
PB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-23-2002, 03:56 AM
slavikn slavikn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,155
Default RE: "Abstract Error" appears again

What about events ... do you do something unnescesseary in the events ... you mentioned that you hade some paint operations ... are you sure the application is ready for these operations, everything is created, etc. Perhaps you need some timers, some delays ...

I think that everything is okay.

And does it run from the OS, With that I mean, what happens if you compile the application, and run the EXE file outside Delphi. Same error ?

Same error.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-23-2002, 03:57 AM
slavikn slavikn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,155
Default RE: "Abstract Error" appears again

> Do you have some code on OnPageChanged event?
No.

> Did you try run it on other computer?
Yes. Same problem.

> Which Delphi are you using?
D5 and D6.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2002, 04:25 AM
PetrB PetrB is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 530
Default RE: "Abstract Error" appears again

Did you try call second form manualy without relation to TNotebook?
Pls. show declaration of form with TNotebook. To see more possibilities what happend (type TMyForm=Class(Tform)....End)

If it help you please give me a point.
PB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-23-2002, 04:49 AM
slavikn slavikn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,155
Default RE: "Abstract Error" appears again

I decided to go back (using my backup of the program) and found in which form the bug was. It was in frmEntry and not in frmMain.

In the end of frmEntry (before going to the next form), I wrote frmEntry.Free; therefore, it didn't work. Now it is fine!!!!!

I don't understand why it worked before, but anyway, I am glad this nightmare is finished.

Thanks to all of you anyway!

Best regards,
slavikn.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-23-2002, 05:03 AM
andyho andyho is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,446
Default RE: "Abstract Error" appears again

Then your mistake is obvious: you should have used release instead of free, as the free removes the object directly - and if it's inside an event of the object that means that after the removing of the component code which references this component will still be used.

Bye,
Andy

If it helped please click accept...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.