Delphi Pages Forums  

Go Back   Delphi Pages Forums > Delphi Forum > General

Lost Password?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2001, 01:05 PM
deleteme deleteme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 33
Default How to hide wich dll's your program (.exe) uses?

hi there,

When i make a program with delphi, and compile it, you can richt-click on the .exe file in the explorer, and then you can choose something like: show fast (my windows language = dutch, so it could be a little bit different), this "show fast" shows all the dll's my program uese and also wich commands, is it possible to remove this?

already thanks alot (sorry 4 my bad englisch)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2001, 10:46 PM
OregonGhost OregonGhost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 77
Default RE: How to hide wich dll's your program (.exe) uses?

I think it is not possible to remove this, as Windows has to load the DLL's and has to know which ones. So this information has to be saved within the file, and it makes no difference if Windows loads this information because it wants to load the DLL's or for user information.

Oregon Ghost
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2001, 01:42 AM
PoseFant PoseFant is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,002
Default RE: How to hide wich dll's your program (.exe) uses?

Say that you are able to encrypt your exe in some way ...

When you execute it ... ppl who want to know which Dll's are loaded ... just monitor the process and its threads ...

Ofcoarse ... you may load DLL functions dynamically ...

But ... as long as the system know whats happening ... everybody else may gain that information ...


Regards

/Filip
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2001, 09:25 AM
Lapince Lapince is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 163
Default RE: How to hide wich dll's your program (.exe) uses?

It's possible, using an EXE-packer. But anyway, once you programm is loaded, user can know which DLL are loaded in your program's context (even if it's dynamically loaded library !!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2001, 11:21 PM
deleteme deleteme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 33
Default RE: RE: How to hide wich dll's your program (.exe) uses?

thx, but how do other programs hide this, you can't tell me that e.g. winamp does not use api-calls!

ruben
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2001, 11:36 PM
PoseFant PoseFant is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,002
Default RE: How to hide wich dll's your program (.exe) uses?

If it is so important to hide what you are doing ... Create the whole application in assembler ... without any API calls ...

And then ... tell ppl not to disassemble it ... )


Regards


/Filip
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2001, 10:10 AM
Lapince Lapince is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 163
Default RE: RE: RE: How to hide wich dll's your program (.exe) uses?

Maybe there's a bug. In don't have quickview installed. But with other programs, I can see winamp'imports...
If you really don't want people to be able to know which functions you're using, load your DLLs dynamically. But they'll still be able to see which DLL you use, as they're loaded in your program's context...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.